script async src="">


Excitement is building around the country as India’s most successful captain MS Dhoni is back in yellow colours for IPL 2018.
Despite picking a number of experienced campaigners on the first day of the auction, Chennai Super Kings went for a clump of uncapped players. Besides, Dwayne Bravo and Faf Du Plessis were retained by the franchise during the auction via the RTM card.

Names of all 25 players who will represent Chennai Superkings in the 2018 IPL season

Total Players: 25

Overseas Players: 8
Batsmen : Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, M Vijay, Suresh Raina, Kedar Jadhav, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Dhruv Shorey
All-rounders: Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Monu Kumar Singh, Kshitiz Sharma
Wicket-Keepers: MS Dhoni, N Jagadeesan, Sam Billings, Ambati Rayudu
Bowlers: Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Kanishk Seth, Mark Wood, Lungi Ngidi, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell Santner
Probable Playing XI: Shane Watson, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi, Deepak Chahar
Verdict: Bowling lacks experience
Amidst all the buzz around MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja’s retention in the pre auction event, Chennai Super Kings have made headlines in the auction by selecting a mix of veterans and rookies. They might also face an opening conundrum with Shane Watson, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings and Faf Du Plessis, all able to fill in the two spots.
Middle order may not worry the franchise, while the bowlers can be a bit of concern. Besides South African Lungi Nidi who destroyed the Indian batsmen at Cape Town, none of the Indian bowlers have had much exposure at this level.
Next Post »